Eoin Kelly formally joins Tipp...


Eoin Kelly formally joins Tipperary management team for 2020

Share this article

Tipperary hurling manager Liam Sheedy has finalised his backroom team ahead of the 2020 campaign. 

The headline news sees six-time All Star Eoin Kelly formally join the set-up, working alongside Tommy Dunne and Darragh Egan.

Eamon O'Shea will take up the position of the Premier's Performance Director.

Kelly's appointment becomes official after the county's leading scorer in Championship history was brought on board last May to work with the Tipp free-takers prior to the Munster Hurling Championship.

Kelly won the second of his two All Ireland medals under Sheedy in 2010, and the manager hopes the Mullinahone man can help the team achieve back-to-back All Irelands for the first time since 1965.

Speaking following his appointment, Sheedy said, "I have a wonderful relationship with Eoin going back many years.

"He brings a huge amount of experience to the management team and I am thrilled to have him on board."

Kelly spoke to The Irish Examiner in October praising Sheedy's decision to return after nine years away, "Everyone would have said that managers shouldn’t come back, that your second coming isn’t always a good one, that’s what I would have heard for the last nine or 12 months but Liam Sheedy has smashed that theory to pieces.

“So hopefully under his stewardship, he might smash the back-to-back thing to pieces because if there’s one man that can do it, he’s the man.”

Tipp are due to start their 2020 season on Sunday by facing Clare in Nenagh in their opening Group A encounter of the Munster Hurling League.

Speaking of O'Shea's lateral move, Sheedy said, "Eamon played a pivotal role ensuring the team was successful in 2019 and he is hugely respected within the group.

"His new role will give him the scope to be of even greater benefit to the panel in 2020."

Share this article

Read more about

All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Clare Darragh Egan Eamon O'Shea Eoin Kelly Liam Sheedy Munster Hurling League Munster Senior Hurling Championship Tipperary Tommy Dunne