Leo Varadkar voted in as Taois...

News & Sport

Leo Varadkar voted in as Taoiseach for the second time

Sarah McGuinness
Sarah McGuinness

01:11 17 Dec 2022

Share this article

Leo Varadkar has been elected Taoiseach. 

87 TDs voted in favour and 62 against his nomination in a Dáil vote.

This is the Fine Gael's leader second time in the chief role in Government, and the first time the position has been rotated in Irish political history.

It is also the first time Fianna Fáil TDs voted for a Fine Gael Taoiseach.

Outgoing Taoiseach Micheál Martin handed in his letter of resignation to Michael D Higgins this morning.

There is expected to be a Dáil vote on the new Cabinet at around 5pm, where the new Government structure will be revealed.

It is believed that there will be very little shake-up in the top ministerial roles.

Share this article

Read more about

Fianna Fáil Fine Gal Leo Varadkar. Micheal Martin. Government Politics Toiseach